In the Heart of the City

For more than ten years, the HMS has been located on the Kunst- und Mediencampus Hamburg.

The HMS is a Gateway to the World

The Hamburg Media School GmbH, founded in 2003, is a public private partnership and a lighthouse project of the Hamburg Office of Science and Research, Hamburg University, the College of Fine Arts of Hamburg, and the Hamburg Media School Foundation, together with more than 50 renowned media companies. In addition, as an independent part of the Finkenau Art and Media Campus, the HMS is a partner of the TIDE community and educational television channel.

From the outset of this joint initiative, the HMS has trained talented young media professionals for their leap into the artistic, economic, and academic elite media milieu and strengthened Hamburg’s presence as a media hub.

Our selection criteria are extremely rigorous and full engagement is expected of course participants, including during term breaks and often on evenings and weekends. In addition to an optimal professional training background and the development of an international personal network, we place a great deal of emphasis on a sustainable awareness of the social responsibility that comes with leadership. For this reason, our students also apply their expertise in pro bono projects run by the HMS for welfare organizations like Unicef and Hinz&Kunz, and will soon take part in projects to provide educational services to refugees.

This is the basis for our accredited MA programs in Media Management, Film, and Digital Journalism. In addition, since 2013, we have offered a BA program in Digital Media in which we work together with Leuphana University to train the new generation of digital natives.

The programs in Film and Media Management, the first ever on offer at the HMS, have now become internationally successful.

Our films show the world from dramatic angles, and our young filmmakers are active across the globe. HMS films enjoy more than 500 screenings a year and win more than 50 national and international awards annually. These have included three Academy Awards won by students of the HMS and three additional Academy Award nominations for Best Short Film. Proportionate to its student population, the HMS is thus by far the most successful German film school in this context. Most graduates become successful in their fields; official statistics show that 85% of Film program graduates remain in the film business.

Our media managers have one thing in common: a passion for media. As diverse as their careers can be, whether they go on to become strategic partners at Google, advertising directors with ZEIT, or client partners with Facebook, they all seek to live out innovation in the age of digitalization, actively shape the media in its many forms, and adapt it to the future. After two years of intensive preparation, our students leave equipped with essential knowledge of business and management, a deep knowledge of media, and a broad network that is unique in Germany.

Since 2013, our part-time MA program in Digital Journalism has provided advanced professional training to editors, freelance and staff journalists, and media experts. During their two years in the program, students receive a comprehensive skills upgrade for successful journalistic work in the digital age in practical seminars with topics raging from change management in the newsroom, to modern storytelling, to the development of new business models.

The HMS also specializes in Executive Education, a portion of its coursework which developed from external demand for individual classes taught within the different programs. We offer seminars with participation fees that help participants develop their personal and professional skills in fields and professions related to media and digitalization, all while they continue to work. This includes diverse summer schools as well as large-scale events like our Online Marketing Rockstars, which attracts thousands of paying visitors from throughout Germany. At the same time, these events are also a space in which students in these programs can practice and get involved.

In addition, the HMS runs self-sufficient research departments in applied sciences that take on commissioned research projects. These include the Inno Lab, which scientifically monitors the development of the digital transformation; the German Producers Alliance for film; and the departments of journalism and media research. These departments provide a space for scientific investigation and evaluation, including for external clients such as newspaper publishers.

The Film and Digital Media programs have no tuition fees, while the programs in Media Management and Digital Journalism do. However, no qualified applicants are turned away. Scholarships are provided by our partners and supporters from the commercial, cultural, and political sectors.

They and we at the HMS are thoroughly invested in our students, who represent our future.

Best regards from Finkenau!

Yours,

Dr. Katharina Schaefer


Dr. Katharina Schaefer

Commercial Director

  • +49 (0)40 413 468 0
  • +49 (0)40 413 468 10
  • ka.schaefer@hamburgmediaschool.com

Newsletter

Mitten in der Stadt

Seit über zehn Jahren hat die HMS ihren Sitz auf dem Kunst- und Mediencampus Hamburg.

Die HMS öffnet die Tore zur Welt

Die 2003 gegründete Hamburg Media School GmbH ist als Public private Partnership ein Leuchtturmprojekt der Hamburger Behörde für Wissenschaft und Forschung, der Universität Hamburg, der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg und der Hamburg Media School Stiftung gemeinsam mit mehr als 50 renommierten Medienunternehmen. Als eigenständiger Teil des Kunst- und Mediencampus Finkenau ist die HMS außerdem Gesellschafter des Bürger- und Ausbildungskanal TIDE.

Seit Beginn der gemeinsamen Initiative bildet die HMS besonders begabte junge Medienschaffende für den Sprung in die künstlerischen, wirtschaftlichen und akademischen Schaltstellen der Medienbranche aus und stärkt damit den Standort Hamburg.

Unsere Auswahlkriterien sind hart und im Studium erwarten wir unbedingtes Engagement, auch in den vorlesungsfreien Zeiten und oft auch an den Abenden und Wochenenden. Dazu legen wir neben der optimalen fachlichen Ausbildung und dem Aufbau internationaler persönlicher Netzwerke großen Wert auf ein nachhaltiges Bewusstsein der gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung, die mit Führungspositionen verbunden ist.
Deshalb bringen die Studierenden ihre Expertise auch in Pro Bono Projekte der HMS für soziale Einrichtungen wie Unicef, Hinz&Kunzt und für die Weiterbildung von Flüchtlingen ein. 

Dafür stehen die Master-Studiengänge Medienmanagment, Film und Digital Journalism, die alle für die Vergabe des Masters akkreditiert sind. Dazu kommt seit 2013 der Bachelor-Studiengang Digital Media, mit dem wir, in Kooperation mit der Leuphana Universität, die Ausbildung der Digital Natives vorantreiben.

Filmstudium und Medienmanagement sind als Gründungs-Studiengänge mittlerweile international sehr erfolgreich.

Unsere Filme zeigen die Welt aus dramatischen Perspektiven und unsere jungen Filmschaffenden sind international unterwegs. Filme der HMS erleben über 500 Aufführungen pro Jahr und gewinnen alljährlich mehr als 50 nationale und internationale Preise, darunter drei Studenten Oscars und drei Nominierungen für den Kurzfilm-Oscar. Damit ist die HMS im Verhältnis zur Zahl ihrer Studierenden die bei weitem erfolgreichste deutsche Filmschule. Die meisten Absolventen sind dann auch in der Branche erfolgreich, die sog. "Verbleibestatistik" weist beim Filmstudium einen amtlich festgestellten Anteil von 85 Prozent aus.

Unsere Medienmanager haben alle eines gemeinsam: eine unbedingte Leidenschaft für Medien. So unterschiedlich ihre Jobpositionen später auch sind - ob Strategic Partner bei Google, Anzeigenleiterin bei der ZEIT oder Client Partner bei Facebook - sie alle wollen in Zeiten der Digitalisierung die Innovation leben, Medien in ihren vielfältigsten Erscheinungsformen aktiv gestalten und zukunftsfähig machen. Dafür entlassen wir sie nach zwei intensiven Jahren mit dem nötigen Rüstzeug an BWL- und Managementkenntnissen, ausgezeichneter Medienexpertise und einem weltweiten gespannten Netzwerk, dass in dieser Form Deutschland weit einzigartig ist.

Der berufsbegleitende Master-Studiengang "Digital Journalism" bildet seit 2013 Redakteure, (freie) Journalisten und Medienschaffende weiter. Vom Change Management im Newsroom, über modernes Storytelling bis hin zur Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsmodelle - während des zweijährigen Studiums erhalten die Studierenden in praxisorientierten Seminaren ein umfassendes Upgrade für erfolgreiche journalistische Arbeit im digitalen Zeitalter.

Ein weiteres Standbein der HMS ist die Executive Education, die sich aus der externen Nachfrage nach einzelnen Kursen der Studiengänge entwickelt hat. Hier bieten wir gebührenpflichtige Seminare zur berufsbegleitenden, persönlichen Weiterentwicklung in medialen und digitalen Fachbereichen und Berufen. Dazu gehören diverse Summer Schools, aber auch große Events, wie die Online Marketing Rockstars, die Tausende zahlender Besucher aus ganz Deutschland anziehen. Gleichzeitig sind diese Großereignisse auch ein Übungs- und Tätigkeitsfeld für die Studierenden aus diesen Bereichen.

Zudem betreibt die HMS auch Forschungsabteilungen für angewandte Wissenschaften, die sich durch Auftragsarbeiten selbst tragen: das Inno Lab, das die digitale Transformation wissenschaftlich verfolgt, die filmische Allianz der Produzenten und die journalistischen und medialen Forschungsabteilungen. Sie bieten den Raum für wissenschaftliche Erhebungen und Auswertungen, auch für externe Auftraggeber wie z.B. Zeitungsverlage.

Filmstudium und Digital Media erheben keine Studiengebühren, Medienmanagement und Digital Journalism sind gebührenpflichtig. Aber niemand, der geeignet ist, wird abgewiesen. Von unseren Partnern und Fördern aus der Wirtschaft und Kultur und der Politik werden Stipendien zur Verfügung gestellt.

Mit ihnen verbindet uns eine lebendige Verantwortung für unsere Studierenden, die unsere Zukunft sind.

Herzliche Grüße aus der Finkenau!
Ihre Dr. Katharina Schaefer


Dr. Katharina Schaefer

Geschäftsführerin

  • +49 (0)40 413 468 0
  • +49 (0)40 413 468 10
  • ka.schaefer@hamburgmediaschool.com

Newsletter bestellen